June 8th “Looking Out for #1″

I’ve collected all of these random 70’s self-help and psychology books much to Adair’s annoyment (that’s not a real word).  They’re all over the basement and in obscure sections of my studio.   On my piano for instance, someone has lined them up like a bookshelf.  I’m all for alternative placement of objects so I’ve left them there (even while recording).   And as I’ve anticipated, they’ve been a great source for song material.  That’s where today’s song comes from, I sat down at the piano and wrote this (pen to paper) while looking at the titles of the random books on the piano.  Obviously the book “Looking Out for Number One” by Robert Ringer was in the mix.   The song’s actually pretty good.

lyrics

Leave a Reply

